Home INDIA PRSI IPRA Global Alliance PRSI Chapters Contact Us
» Public Relations in India
» PRSI Leadership Awards
» PRSI National Awards
» PRSI Chapter Awards
» PRSI National Executive
» PRSI National Council Members
» National Cooperative PR
» PRSI Membership Form
» National CooperativePR Workshop
» Amul Brand building
» Cooperative – Private Partnership
» Media Relations
» ITC
» Interaction with News Media
» Power of ICT & Success Story of SUMUL
» Globalisation, Corporate Governance
» Role Of Public Relations & Communication In Cooperatives
» Crisis, Management & Communication
Economy

National currency
Rupees (One Rupees=100 paise)

India has a diverse economic base. Agriculture (about 55 per cent of the land is arable) makes up some 30 per cent of the gross domestic product (GDP) and employs almost 70 per cent of the Indian people.

India produces large amounts of machine tools, electronics, armaments, transportation equipment and chemicals. It also has a growing computer software industry. Its large motion picture industry is concentrated in Bombay.

In 1990, the government departed from its traditional policy of self-reliant industrial activity and development and worked to deregulate Indian industry and attract foreign investment.

Indian professionals in the field of It , medical , engineering etc are today respected across the Globe. Hectic economic activities and the vibrance of people to achieve excellence is all set to put India on top of the world in the new millennium.

 
Financial Institutions:
India’s banking system can be classified as follows:

Public Sector Banks
Private Sector Banks
Co-operative Sector Banks
Development Banks

In general, banks in India are regulated by central Reserve Bank of India. The Reserve Bank of India places restrictions on bank lending and other activities with large companies.

Foreign banks in India have lured customers through more automation, faster service, flexible working hours and 24 hour ATMs. Today private Indian banks as well as national banks offer better services and strive for comprehensive automation Following is a list of some of the national, regional and local banks in India.

Allahabad Bank - http://www.allahabadbank.com/
Bank of Baroda - http://www.bankofbaroda.com/
Bank of India - http://www.bankofindia.com/
Bank of Punjab - http://www.bankofpunjab.com/page.htm
Bankers India - http://www.bankersindia.net/bankexpo/index.htm
Canara Ban - http://www.canbankindia.com/
Central Bank of India - http://www.centralbankofindia.co.in/new/
Corporation Bank - http://www.corpbank.com/
Development Credit Bank - http://www.dcbl.com/newdcbl/index.cgi
Export-Import Bank of India - http://www.eximbankindia.com/index.html
Federal Bank - http://www.federal-bank.com/
Global Trust Bank - http://www.globaltrustbank.com/
Greater Bank - http://www.greaterbank.com/
Industrial Development Bank of India - http://www.idbibank.com/
Indian Bank - http://www.indian-bank.com/
Indian Overseas Bank - http://www.iob.com/Home.asp
IndusInd Bank- http://www.indusind.com/
Oriental Bank of Commerce - http://www.obcindia.com/
Punjab & Maharashtra Co-operative Bank Ltd - http://www.pmcbank.com/
Reserve Bank of India - http://www.rbi.org.in/
State Bank of India - http://www.sbi.co.in/
Syndicate Bank - http://www.syndicatebank.com/
UCO Bank - http://www.ucobank.com/
Union Bank of India - http://www.unionbankofindia.com/topmain.asp

All right reserved 2006
Public Relations Society of India (PRSI)
Home :: Join PRSI :: Feedback :: Contact Us :: Site Map
Website Designing & Web Hosting by Hans Cyber Technologies