Home INDIA PRSI IPRA Global Alliance PRSI Chapters Contact Us
» Public Relations in India
» PRSI Leadership Awards
» PRSI National Awards
» PRSI Chapter Awards
» PRSI National Executive
» PRSI National Council Members
» National Cooperative PR
» PRSI Membership Form
» India
» National Anthem
» National Emblem
» National Song
» National Calendar
» National Animal
» National Bird
» National Flower
» Political Structure
» Economy
» Media
Media
India has a well-developed, mature mass media and media relations practices are similar to those in the west. Media kits, releases, advisories and pitch letters are sent to editors and news directors via fax, e-mail or mail depending on personal preferences.

Television and newspapers are the most widely utilized source of information. Most media outlets have advanced, interactive Web sites that translate content, articles and information into English and other languages.

There is a dichotomy of perspectives on the nature of the mass media in India. One perspective sees Indian media with a strong western bias which ignores local views and concerns. Another view sees the Indian media free of government constraints and as a key instrument in upholding Indian democracy. Explications of these perspectives are found at the following Web sites:

 
 
National Newspapers

There are many popular national newspapers in India. Below is a list of names and Web site links to some of the papers with larger circulations:

The Times of India -
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/cms.dll/html/uncomp/default?xml=0&
The Hindustan Times - http://www.hindustantimes.com/
Indian Express - http://www.indianexpress.com/sunday/index.html
The Pioneer Newspaper - http://www.dailypioneer.com/
The Hindu - http://www.hinduonnet.com/
The Asian Age - http://www.asianage.com/
The Indian Tribune - http://www.tribuneindia.com/
The Deccan Herald - http://www.deccanherald.com/deccanherald/jun22/index1.asp
India Abroad - http://www.indiaabroad.com/
The Deccan Chronicle - http://www.deccan.com/
The Statesman - http://www.thestatesman.net/
The Telegraph - http://www.telegraphindia.com/section/frontpage/index.asp

 
 
Regional and Local Newspapers:

India also has dozens of regional and local newspapers. Below are some of the better-known papers as well as links to more detailed lists:

Deccan Herald - Bangalore - www.deccanherald.com
Sanjevani - Bangalore - www.sanjevani.com
Sambad - Bhubaneswar - www.orissasambad.com
The Tribune - Chandigarh - www.tribuneindia.com
Assam Tribune - Guwahati - www.assamtribune.com
Rajasthan Patrika - Jaipur - www.patrikaonline.com
Daily Excelsior - Jammu - www.patrikaonline.com
Daily Bhaskar- Bhopal, Jaipur , Chandigarh - www.bhaskar.com
Gujarat Samachar- Ahmedabad - www.gujaratsamachar.com
Sandesh- Ahmedabad - www.sandesh.org

For a more detailed list of Indian regional and local papers, visit
http://newsdirectory.com/news/press/as/in/ or
the Mondo Times Web site at http://www.mondotimes.com/1/world/in

 
 
Magazines:

For an alphabetic list of all Indian newspapers and magazines, visit The Indian Connection at http://home.sprynet.com/~hrpmetal/media.htm

Another link to India’s magazines can be found at:
http://newsdirectory.com/news/magazine/as/in/

 
 
Television and Radio:
Television and radio are popular media in India. The following link provides a complete list of stations: http://www.tvradioworld.com/region2/ind/
 
 
PRESS INFORMATION BUREAU

The Press Information Bureau (PIB) is the nodal agency of the Central Government to disseminate information to the print and electronic media on government policies, programme initiatives and achievements. The Bureau has a total of 43 Regional and Branch Offices and Information Centres. Information is disseminated through Press Releases, press Notes, Feature Articles, Backgrounders, press Briefings, Photographs, press Conferences, interviews, database available on Bureau’s website, Press tours, etc. The information material released in English, Hindi, Urdu and 13 other regional languages reaches about 8400 newspapers and media organization.

With its headquarters in Delhi, the Bureau has officers who are exclusively attached to different Ministries and Departments to assist them in dissemination of information and giving the feedback on the people’s reaction, as reflected in the Media towards Government policies and programmes.

All right reserved 2006
Public Relations Society of India (PRSI)
Home :: Join PRSI :: Feedback :: Contact Us :: Site Map
Website Designing & Web Hosting by Hans Cyber Technologies