Home INDIA PRSI IPRA Global Alliance PRSI Chapters Contact Us
» Public Relations in India
» PRSI Leadership Awards
» PRSI National Awards
» PRSI Chapter Awards
» PRSI National Executive
» PRSI National Council Members
» National Cooperative PR
» PRSI Membership Form
» India
» National Anthem
» National Emblem
» National Song
» National Calendar
» National Animal
» National Bird
» National Flower
» Political Structure
» Economy
» Media
Political Structure

Federal Republic

India has a parliamentary form of government. The executive authority is responsible to the elected representatives of the people in the Parliament for all its decisions and actions. Sovereignty rests ultimately with the people. The Parliament is bi-cameral.

Rajya Sabha (Council of States): The Council of States consists of not more than 250 members, of whom 12 are nominated by the President of India and the rest elected. It is not subject to dissolution because one-third of its members retire at the end of every second year. The elections to the Council are indirect.

Lok Sabha (House of the People): The House of the People consists of 552 members. Of these, 530 are directly elected from the 25 States and 20 from the seven Union Territories. Two members are nominated by the President to represent the Anglo-Indian community.

President of India: Mrs Pratibha Devisingh Patil

The President is the Head of the State and the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces. He/she is elected by an electoral college composed of members of both the Houses of Parliament and the legislatures of the nation’s constituent States. The President holds office for five years and can be re-elected.

The Vice-President : Mr M Hamid Ansari

The Vice President is elected jointly by the members of both the Houses of Parliament.The vice – president is ex-officio chairman of Rajya Sabha .

Prime Minister of India: Dr Manmohan Singh

The President does not normally exercise any constitutional powers on his own initiative. These are exercised by the Council of Ministers, headed by the Prime Minister, which is responsible to the elected parliament. The person enjoying majority support in the Lok Sabha is appointed Prime Minister by the President. The President then appoints other ministers on the advice of the Prime Minister.

The States

The states have elected Legislative Assemblies. The Head of the States are called governors. Appointed by the President, the Governor of the state holds the Executive Power.Council of Ministers with Chief Minister as head, aids and advises the Governor in exercise of his functions.

The following are links to India’s states..

Andhra Pradesh - http://www.aponline.gov.in/apportal/index.asp
Arunachal Pradesh - http://arunachalpradesh.nic.in/
Assam - http://assamgovt.nic.in/
Bihar http://bihar.nic.in
Delhi - http://delhigovt.nic.in/newdelhi/index.html
Goa - http://goagovt.nic.in
Gujarat - http://www.gujaratindia.com/index.htm
Haryana - http://haryana.nic.in/
Himachal Pradesh - http://himachal.nic.in/welcome.asp
Jammu and Kashmir - http://jammukashmir.nic.in/
Karnataka - http://www.kar.nic.in
Madhya Pradesh - http://www.mpgovt.nic.in/
Maharashtra - http://www.maharashtra.gov.in/
Manipur - http://manipur.nic.in/
Meghalaya - http://meghalaya.nic.in/
Mizoram - http://mizoram.nic.in/
Nagaland - http://nagaland.nic.in/
Orissa - http://orissagov.nic.in
Punjab - http://punjabgovt.nic.in/
Rajasthan - www.rajgovt.org
Sikkim - http://sikkim.nic.in/
Tamil Nadu - http://www.tn.gov.in
Tripura - http://tripura.nic.in/
Uttar Pradesh - www.upgov.nic.in
West Bengal - www.westbengal.gov.in

All right reserved 2006
Public Relations Society of India (PRSI)
Home :: Join PRSI :: Feedback :: Contact Us :: Site Map
Website Designing & Web Hosting by Hans Cyber Technologies